• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

julienX

new to dx - COM stuff?

This topic is 5741 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey im reading TOTWGPG and am up to the directx primer which talks about COM. I don''t get a single word of it! Well i''m gonna go over it another few times, but I just wunna know if making ya own COM classes/objects and stuff is actually something you would need to do to make a game in dx. I guess u dont NEED to but then what is it for then? (COM) Sorry but im just a newb ta dx Thanks for ya time!

Advertisement
COM is for making components. This are libraries that other programs then use. COM can be utilised in various ways, and most hav to do with architecture - making a program not only working, but also easy to maintain.

Besides, COM+ (a com extension, so to say) offers a lot of support for enterprise projects - security (not everyone can call every method), distributed transaction support etc.

All of this is pretty useless if you stick around with simple things like simple games - it CAN turn very usefull on a MMORPG backend. Depends on the level of professionalism of the developers.

Regards

Thomas Tomiczek
THONA Consulting Ltd.
(Microsoft MVP C#/.NET)

Thanks for the reply, but if you say:

"All of this is pretty useless if you stick around with simple things like simple games"

Then why does it explain how to create COM classes ect in
the book (TOTWGPG)?? Ain't it supposed to be for beginners?

Thanks

I'm guessing that it explains it so you are aware of it, and just in case you need to use it. Is this right?

[edited by - julienX on February 1, 2003 9:39:57 AM]