• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

massive x

help learning visual c++

This topic is 6911 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''ve been coding in basic, pascal, and turbo c++ for some time now, but it was always in dos. I just started programming in windows. Borland Turbo C++ for windows was easy for me, but I''m completely lost while using microsoft visual c++. I wanted to know if someone can give me some internet resources or any advice to help me learn my way around not only the visual c++ environment, but windows programming in general. I''m using microsoft visual studio 6.0. Also, is visual c++ really that much better than turbo c++? What are the advantages/disadvantages of either of these two.

Advertisement
Well, actually, i prefer Visual C++ over Turbo C++ because basically Visual C++ is in windows, and its object-oriented. This has lots of advantages, one being its easier to visualize problems and solutions if they are though of as objects. Visual C++ also has a whole bunch of neat features, like ClassView, which lets you easily manage and create new views, and some other things i like. AND you can switch between Release and Debug settings when you compile, AND Visual C++ has a debugger built into it, AND its in windows, so you have all those nifty Windows advantages. I know its confusing (I used both TC++ and VC++, and it was a hard switch), but you just have to play around with it and it''ll get easier.

In all, you should switch to Windows programming.

-----------------------------------------------------------
PCMCIA - People Can't Memorize Computer Industry Acronyms
ISDN - It Still Does Nothing
APPLE - Arrogance Produces Profit-Losing Entity
SCSI - System Can't See It
DOS - Defunct Operating System
BASIC - Bill's Attempt to Seize Industry Control