Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

HellspawnXIII

Game programming colleges

Which would help the most in getting into the game programming industry: A BS degree from a 4-year college, or a degree from one of those game programming colleges (FullSail, Digipen, etc)? Or, would it be even better to have both?

Guest Anonymous Poster
I would say that a game development school was the best option.
Digipen focuses specifically on Game Development, while Full Sail
also deals with other stuff like film, recording arts and computer animation. Therefore, I think that for a guy trying to get into the games industry, Digipen is the best choice (its also
much cheaper)

I'm no expert at this but i think having a degree won't help much if you haven't got the talent,...... then again you must be pretty talented if you have both.....

[edited by - Crawl on March 1, 2003 5:34:59 PM]

Well, seeing as I am enrolled (and plan to finish) college, another Associates degree in Computer Game development wouldn''t help? Or would it be equivalent to a few good demos of mine?

Check out the good Computer Science schools, I learned the basics of good code from Cal Poly at San Luis Obispo, CA and am developing a game based on all of the good mathematics and coding I learned there.
2 Classes in C, Pre-Calculus, Calculus and Calculus 2.

- Valles

What really matters is a completed game demo with code samples that show you know your stuff. You can get this by working on your own or by going to Full Sail/Digipen where part of the curriculum is making a game demo to show to employers. Just another degree on your resume isn''t going to mean much when you''re trying to find a job.