OOP opengl.h opengl.cpp

Started by
10 comments, last by dynamo_wku 21 years, 1 month ago
Im trying to create a second window (for debug purposes) but i cant seem to get it to work right with the OOP basecode stuff... do i have to make a new COpenGL object? or can i just do another object.CreateGLWindow(...) ? either way it doesnt work for me...id like to mention im new to win32 stuff and not quit certain what the MSG and HINSTANCE and all that jazz does for windows programming... thanks dynamo
Advertisement
I think if you''re using visual c++ you can just start all your projects as win32 console apps. This creates a console window behind your main program. Then, to write to the console use cout or printf, whatever you want.
i am using visual c++ and my project is a win32 app...but the only window that pops up is the one i created...there is no console menu

also, with console i couldnt get a real time effect...i needed another window that sets there and spits out values like x and y coordinates and speeds as they change...
Hmmm, well, I got away from the visual c++ thing awhile ago and went to linux so i might not be remembering correctly but I think there is a straight up win32 app and a win32 console app that you can choose with the project creation wizard. This could be wrong however and you might have already chosen the console one. The other quick thing I can think of doing wouldn''t be as helpful to you since you couldn''t see the results while you were running your program, at least not in real-time would be to output your values with printf or cout, without any console up, this should be written to a file in your project directory called stdout.txt. You could check that out while you were running your program to see what''s happening debugging-wise. To do this, you don''t need to set anything up, just pring to stdout.