Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How long takes C++ to learn?

This topic is 5398 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I mainly asked, becouse I''m 20 and I''d like to know how long did it took you guys to learn it basically. So! can I just give it up or do I have a shot? I started studying C++ three month ago and I feel it''s gonna take me ages to learn it. Thanks!

It is worth gold to just go through a book with exercies. And then I mean go through and not think about 50% of the exercises as "I can write this program, so I''ll take another one"...

It depends on your previous education. As a CS student with some experience, it took me a few weeks to make the transition to C++; after about 6 months of proper use I''m fairly fluent.

Without prior programming experience, it might take you longer, but with some effort you''ll be a capable C++ programmer in under a year. All the tips and tricks... that''s a lifetime task.

And working around its problems... that''ll take you to your grave

quote:
Original post by Enselic
It is worth gold to just go through a book with exercies. And then I mean go through and not think about 50% of the exercises as "I can write this program, so I''ll take another one"...

Well, I skipped more than half of exercises in the beggining, but then I didn''t understand more.... The I read the book again and did all the exercises (even the obviest ones like "Write a program who asks the name of the person and write in the output: "Hello, name") I could go on and now I dont need the help of the book to do Text-Based Games.

DON''T SKIP THE EXERCISES!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guest Anonymous Poster
Hello, I will just share some of my own experencie

I had been programming a bit here and a bit there in Pascal, C++
some two years, but never really delved into either of them.