Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BruiZa

printing to the console in OpenGL programs

Hello All, I am new to programming in C++ and Opengl (although I have some experience with C and Java). I have been going through the NeHe tutorials online and I am trying to write some openGL code for my university project. I want to add some lines to my code to output the values of particular variables so that I can check they are correct. Basically I have applied some functions to the current matrix and need to print out each of the 16 values of the array. I have tried printf and cout but when I run the program from a cmd window, nothing appears when I run the program. I was writing the lines in the DrawGLScene(GLvoid) function and I guess this might be the problem but I am not sure. Cheers for any help -BruiZa

You can use one of the open gl text functions to output it to the screen. In everything i work on i do that, where if bool screeninfo == true i have it diplay variable vaules all over the screen.

Another option is to us fstream and output them to a file.

You can just make the program as a console application and add (after winmain):

int main( HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,
LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)

return WinMain(hInstance,hPrevInstance,lpCmdLine,nCmdShow);
}

Then just use cout or printf and it will show up in the seprate console window.

Thanks for the help. I think i will try and output to a file. Hopefully that will be the easiest.

~BruiZa

it just fits into the thread so ill aks here:

is there a good tutorial online how i could make a real console in my opengl application?

Make it a console application and then open the opengl window. As in my post above, you can just add main() after winmain and change it to a console app. The program will work exactly the same but also open a console window.

i ment a real console like in 3d games (eg Q3)...
i know how it works basicly..