Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

easy_dog

Tips for a newbie someone?

Well, Im a newbie in the sense that I have only programmed c++ text based programs. And offcourse darkbasic, basic, qbasic and a bunch of other languages. But now I want to move on to the glorius world of 3d. Can anyone give me any good tips on how to start. I dont really know what to learn first and so on.

Guest Anonymous Poster
1."Assembly Language Step-by-Step" (Jeff Duntemann) -> great book
2. Adam''s online assembly tutorials (much about VGA programming)
3. with this knowledge, try to build a game.

I myself completed this in about 2 months...

Have a look at the For Beginners section on this site.

Have a look at the DirectX resources on this site.

And have a look at the reference section in general on this site.

P.S. There are easier ways to start learning 3d other than reading "Assembly Language Step-by-Step" However it *is* an awesome book.

[edited by - Fingolfin on March 5, 2003 5:38:04 AM]

Guest Anonymous Poster
hm, my login and password dont work

Easy_dog´s answer:

Thanx, I think I will start out with assembly, since I might need it in the future to get the most speed when writing a 3d engine(which is my goal, not for some time though).

After assembler Ill try to get some stuff on direct x and learn that, is there something else I should know after that to create a 3d engine?

quote:
After assembler Ill try to get some stuff on direct x and learn that, is there something else I should know after that to create a 3d engine?

Yes... experience is very usefull !

"Never use brutal force, always HAMMER !!!"

quote:

Yes... experience is very usefull !

quote:

Thanx, I think I will start out with assembly, since I might need it in the future to get the most speed when writing a 3d engine(which is my goal, not for some time though).