Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Digipen's Project Fun

This topic is 5395 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Has anybody used this before or anything? I was looking at it and it looks looks pretty cool. I have some expirence with c++ I''m like on the 6th chapter of my c++ book. Anyways has anyone ever done this and would you recommend it? ----------------------------- Programming is confussing! AIM: Trebor DoD

Good to see that people outside DigiPen use this ^_^ I'm attending the DigiPen skills center program. All of the students will use Fun for all their games, with excersizes done in vc++. I'm a 2nd year student, and our team is working on a Battlebot type game.
Fun is a useful program to learn game concepts and c++. You can make a 'game' without coding at all, but to make a good GAME you need to code within Fun and externally. You will never learn the internal workings of windows or directX with Fun. Fun generates almost everything for you, all you have to worry about is the game and its structures and its behaviour.
The first year at the DigiPen college uses Fun now, but I belive (and hope) that the later years get into the good stuff. I personally do not believe in using just Fun to teach game programming (which is what the skill centers are doing right now). In the real world, Fun is not used, so you need to learn the other skills associated with game programming.
If you want to make a good game fast, use Fun. It is easy to do menus, collision, arcade shooters, platform games, sound, and everything else. I would recommend you sign up for the Fun program. For $30 a year and subscription to Nintendo Power, it is really worth it. You'll be making games and showing them off to people in no time (which is why the skill centers cling to using Fun, good publicity).