Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mescalito

How much do you use C++ in your games ???

Mescalito    122
This can be a strange question but I was wondering if every C++ programmer build their games completly using C++ methods. Personnaly I can be called a C++ programmer (2 years of C++ studying...) But when I write games I don''t use all possibilities it gives. My programs are a mix of C and C++. (I used classes to make a OOP game but for implementation I generally C instead of C++ STL with things like , , ...) So what about you ? Do you make Pure C games, Pure C++ games or it''s a mix of both ?

Mescalito    122
Oops there''s was a problem when writing the post (it didn''t write text between characters greater than and lower than...)

So here''s the complete sentence
"instead of C++ STL Things like string, vector, map ..."

RizMan    146
I am quite new to game programming and am working on my first real project after being through lots of OpenGL Tutorials. So I don''t know if what I''m using is what is used in general.
So what I do is I use C++ for object creation like every tile in my world is an instance of a class. However, stuff like initialization, reading in the map, rendering the scene etc...is done using C. So I use a mix of both. Depending on what I wanna do.

Mathematix    259
I use both where I see fit. There are no set rules that say you should use only C or C++. Of course, before C++ was so mainstream in game development C was the sole language for game development. Do a google search for the Quake 2 source to see what I mean.

I''m sure that there are purest game programmers out there who will insist on using either on or the other, but do not accept this as chapter and verse.

Mescalito    122
You know if I post this it was only by curiosity.
I''ll keep writing my games using both C and C++
(I think it''s a good way to make the game running well !)

Leffe    301