Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Luke1

Can SomeOne Explain Cos/Sin ?

Im a noob when it comes to math and i see cos/sin alot in game programming i was wondering what they are. I know its something to do with angles but thats all i know.

You are younger than 15 I guess? Anyway to explain that kind of stuff is better learned at school... ask your math teachers and if you don't want to do it .... I am looking for a webpage that explains it now... I'll edit this if I find any.
----------------------------------------------
found this place:
http://math.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.horacemann.org%2Facademics%2Fmath%2Fpcbch%2Ftrig%2Fsohcahtoa.html
but from what I see you better ask in school.

[edited by - Coz on March 6, 2003 2:09:25 PM]

I''ll second that, also (if you can) go down to your local library, they might have good introductory books or go to your school library or even math teachers and ask to borrow some books.

Guest Anonymous Poster
Picture a right triangle - that is a triangle with one 90-degree angle. The longest side (the hypotenuse) is the side opposite the 90-degree angle. If you pick one of the other angles, it has an adjacent side (the other side of the angle besides the hypotenuse) and an opposite side. If you know the length of the sides...

sin(angle) = opposite/hypotenuse
cos(angle) = adjacent/hypotenuse
tan(angle) = opposite/adjacent = sin(angle)/cos(angle)

So how is this useful? Well, think of the length of the hypotenuse as the velocity, say 10 m/s, of a projectile fired at some angle. If you are looking at this from a side view, it would be useful to know the X and Y positions of the projectile at any time t. They are given by:

X = t * 10 * cos(angle)
Y = t * 10 * sin(angle)