Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Sigloxx

Nalimov Tablebases format

Sigloxx    122
I have searched google a lot for some website that would explain exactly how the data is stored in nalimov chess endgame tabebases (compressed or not), but couldn''t find any.. I am interested in it for two reasons : being able to make a chess program that uses them, of course, but also mainly, as a chess studies composer, I would love to be able to create some specific tablebases for some given positions in order to tell fritz or some other strong program the result of a given position. I don''t know if the way nalimov tables are stored and checked by the program allows this for just a specific position, not making a whole table for a given material, though? Maybe it would be easier to stock this information in the format used for fritz opening books? (wich I don''t know as well..). Thanks in advance for all infos you can give me .

Sigloxx    122
RPGeezus, I noticed you had been searching for the same thing as me. Did you find any infos? And what are these "chessy postcript" files you mentionned as a possiblity to go through? I guess I will end up having to download a non compacted nalimov file and try to figure out by myself how it''s stocked...

David Antonini

Russell    118
Endgame tablebases are rather complicated to create and use in practice (well, let''s just say that they are complicated to create efficiently without wasting dozens or hundreds of gigabytes on your hard disk, if you have dozens or hundreds free in the first place). The main problem with creating them is that they require a huge amount of storage space. The 3, 4, and 5-piece endings combined take up 7GB after using numerous "tricks" to reduce the size greatly, and then also after compression. They are working on creating the 6-piece endings now, and it is estimated that they will require over 1.2TB (1200 GB) of space when finished.