• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

elendil67

projects?

This topic is 5558 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am looking for some good projects in computer programming. i basically want to learn something new, be it through a book or a project. i am pretty well-versed in c/c++. i know all of the syntax, and can use it well. i am working on good software design. i known the basics of opengl and direct3d pretty well, i am a newbie at linux though. i can install it, i can work the shell pretty well, i know a little bit about makefiles, gcc, and vi, and i can setup X pretty well. i''m working on linux, but i was wondering what you guys recommend i should do. i want something to work on, learn, or read. are there any good books you would recommend on certain topics in programming? i''m thinking of learning assembly. i was also playing with the idea of demos, and maybe some more game programming. btw, if i choose to learn assembly, should i use the 16-bit version or 32-bit windows/linux version of the art of assembly language? the 16-bit version is basically a regular assembly book to my knowledge, but the 32-bit one has this hla crap. thanks!

Advertisement
> are there any good books you would recommend on certain topics in programming?
There''s useful stuff in Game Programming Gems 1 and 2. Code Complete is a great read, lots of info on good practice.

> i''m thinking of learning assembly. i was also playing with the idea of demos
Right on!

> i was wondering what you guys recommend i should do.
Educational: write a minimal PE / ELF program that runs. I''ve got PE down to 160 bytes; I hear someone wrote an ~84 (?) byte ELF app.
http://acm.uva.es/problemset/ has a bunch of neat programming tasks (similar to a competition).