• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

nodeg

C++ Gamedev projects

This topic is 5737 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. I''ve been studying C++ for about 5 months now, and have a basic understanding of it. I have no knowledge of WIN32, or any graphics libraries as of yet. I''m currently working on a Q3 mod, which is my second project after doing "hello world" What I''m looking for is some sort of tool to help motivate me to code stupid little games, learn Win32, OpenGL, DirectX and whatever the linux equivalent of Win32 is. Ideally something that sets out an idea, and maybe provides crappy little graphics for projects, and then provides a solution that shows you a completed version of the project so you can compare and learn. I''d even settle for a site with little game source codes so that I can play them and then try to duplicate them. Any other learning resources out there you could recommend would also be cool. Thanks.

Advertisement
You may be rushing yourself working on mod so quickly. Take the time to comprehend C++ and your coding will more consistent. Try making simple games like a text adventure, hangman, tic-tac-toe,etc. Here are some useful links:
http://www.freearcade1.com/
www.gametutorials.com
www.cprogramming.com
http://www.winprog.org/

-----------------------------
"There are ones that say they can and there are those who actually do."

"...u can not learn programming in a class, you have to learn it on your own."

quote:
I''m looking for is some sort of tool to help motivate me to code stupid little games...

A Windows book perhaps? That''s what motivated me. My first C++ program was a game. I used Windows 98 Programming From The Ground Up by Herbert Schildt.

Mark
Sound Effects For Game Developers
http://www.indiesfx.co.uk