• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Witchcraven

Pointer Hell

This topic is 5635 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Its been a few years since I have done C ( I was a pro), but now I am all rusty. And I am having a problem with pointers that could be considered basic. Essesntially I am trying to make a dynamically allocated array of pointers. I declare my pointer as follows (it is actually declared inside a structure): struct World { struct Section **sections; //array of sections. 32 bit pointers. }; I allocate space for 100 pointers like: w->sections=malloc(sizeof(struct Section *)*100); The w-> is there becuase my array pointer was declared inside a structure. The variable s is a pointer to an allocate Section structure. I try to put it in the array with: w->sections[0]=s; It compiles without warnings or errors, but it seg faults when it is executed. Any ideas? Is it something obvious that I have overlooked?

Advertisement
Assuming you are using C and not C++, here is one solution.

w->sections = (World *)(malloc(sizeof(World)*100));

Kuphryn

w->sections is of type Section, not World. My World is already allocated. Plus, thats basically what I did with:
w->sections=malloc(sizeof(struct Section *)*100);
when I change it to
w->sections=(Section *)malloc(sizeof(struct Section *)*100);
it makes no difference.

quote:
Original post by Witchcraven
struct World
{
struct Section **sections; //array of sections. 32 bit pointers.
};

I allocate space for 100 pointers like:

w->sections=malloc(sizeof(struct Section *)*100);

K, i haven''t used malloc in awhile, but technically don''t you have to cast the void ptr returned from malloc back into a (Section**) ?

quote:

The variable s is a pointer to an allocate Section structure. I try to put it in the array with:

w->sections[0]=s;