• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Summoner

GLUT.....good or bad?

This topic is 5635 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I was just wondering if anyone knew what the advantages or disadvantages are of using GLUT. I am new to Opengl programming, and i want to know if using raw opengl code...like here at Nehe''s tuts, is better, or should i use GLUT? Any help would be appreciated Thanx If you smoke after sex, youre doing it too fast

Advertisement
GLUT is good and bad...

Pros:
Very very easy to understand, and hence good for beginners.
Cross platform...

Cons:
Old, outdated and not maintained anymore.

My advice is don''t use it!

I adore GLUT. I mainly had to use it as my university demanded it, but it''s nice and simple and lets you get to work OpenGL quickly. It''s also cross-platform as mentioned, and since I keep having to port my code from Windows to Linux all the time it''s ideal.

But in this day and age a lot of people don''t seem to like using it. With a lot of people liking to make Visualisation code as far removed from the main code as possible (for easy conversion), GLUT''s not so great.

I can''t find any online tutorials that use GLUT heavily. It''s all Windows API stuff. I''m considering doing some simple GLUT/OpenGL tutorials myself when I''m a bit more adept (to help other uni students doing my course next year), but that''s going to be a few months down the line.

GLUT is good for getting simple graphics apps up and running fast, especially accross multiple operating systems and is well suited for acedemic environments (I used it in school to code on NT and run on Solaris), but it is not a full featured game solution (audio, etc), so you might want to use SDL instead (if cross platform is what you are after).