Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jcdenton999

Arrays, Variables, Constants...?

I''m having problems...can someone tell me what the difference is between an array, a variable, and a constant. Do they not all do the same thing? When would you use a array rather than a constant etc. Also, are functions absolutely necessary in a program? Can you not get round a problem without using a function? As you can probably see, I am totally new to programming, and I don''t get much time to learn what with going out with friends and playing football. So any help will be appreciated thanks

Variables: They hold one instance of a data type, for example, one integer or one floating point number.

Constants: A pre-defined value. A constant can''t change during program execution.

Arrays: An array can hold multiple instances of the samy type, for example:

int MyInts[10];

...declares an array which can hold up to 10 integers. To access the integers stored in the array, simply do:

n = MyInts[4];

This will store the fifth (MyInts[0] is the first one) integer value in the array MyInts in the variable n.

You can''t program without functions. Functions help you structure your code, and without them it would quickly become an unreadable mass of "spaghetti code".

For crying out loud, she has fishes coming out of her head on either side. How can you find this hot?!

A variable is a singular container. An array is a list of containers. A constant is a container that you cant open to change the contents.