Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bioagentX

Programming Plan

I have a plan for learning game programming, and some feedback or suggestions would be helpful from anyone willing to take the time out of their life to answer. I have three books that I''m trying to learn programming and game programming from. These books are "Teach yourself game programming in 24 hours(Which is suprisingly good regardless of the advertising gimmick), Absolute Beginner''s guide to C, C++ for dummies, C++ the complete reference, and A guide to programming in C++". Now, I want to start making cool games and I am trying to learn how to do it in the quickest and most efficient way possible, while still enjoying the process along the way. One book I have, which is at www.lvp.com "A guide to programming in C++" has tons of example problems. I like doing the example problems, because they help me utilize what I''ve learned, however, I am wondering if I should do all of them. Being that many of them take a while to make, I think because I wanna mainly focus on game programming that I should just do some of the problems, but not all. Do you feel that my plan will be effective? I mean, how did you guys learn C++? Did you just learn what books taught you, or did you go out of your way to work through example programs that you really aren''t interested in programming? Any feedback would be much appreciated. --BioagentX

Take a look at this.
They are discussing this in another thread.
My suggestion learn C++. Go through all the examples and make sure you learn everything in the book. Pay special attention to: pointers, structs, classes, references (&), and... i think that''s it.

Then go to the game programming books, but once you have a solid footing/understanding of C++.