Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

onfu

Beginner in need of advice.

Actually, I''m pre-beginner, technically. I''ve been pretty decent at lingo code (director scripting) for quite a while, but i want to get way more serious about programming. Since Director feels pretty dead-end at the moment, even though it''s powerful and SO easy to get fast results with minimal scripting (if it''s tactful), I need to make a choice about which new area to invest my time into. My main two interests right now and 3D modelling/anim. and Programming, so this might affect the decision. Can anyone tell me (without a logicless bias preferably), which language is the best place to start for a person like me?...I''ve done no actual programming in a "real" language, so i have no compiling experience or any related processes, but i know a lot of complex lingo, which contains many of the same principles as all the programming basics. i feel like things click pretty nicely whenever i take on a challenge with coding something. i usually achieve the goal pretty quickly just by experimenting. I feel definitely more suited to OOP, does that narrow it down a hell of a lot? so, it doesn''t need to be something too basic just for the sake of being a beginner, i''d be more interested in jumping straight into a language that i can do just about anything with, even if it means i''ll be floundering in the deep end for a while. i just want to know what the most useful and suitable one would be in the grand scheme of things. so can i possibly grab some advice? - sorry bout the long winded story. muchly appreciated, Patrick

Unfortunately, there is no such thing as ''the best language'', and there is definitely no such thing in the programming business as a person completely without bias.