Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

progrmr

Beginning direct3d game programming book - ugh

OK, I am new to game programming although I have several years of business programming experience. I wanted to start at the beginning so I bought the book "Beginning direct3d programming". Now, I'm using the .NET programming environment which still allows you to create unmanaged C++ code so I setup my include directories and lib directories and install the DirectX 8 SDK from the CD. The book tells me to build the code in the chapter4 directory for the book - well this is error #1 because when I go to install the source code their is no chapter 4 source code, it starts at chapter 5. No biggie, I extract the chapter 5 source code and setup the project. Build error right off the bat - cannot find include file D3DApp.h. I search my C: drive and sure enough the file is nowhere to be found. I investigate the other include files in the source code - D3DFont.h, D3DUtil.h, and DXUtil.h. None of which was found on my system anywhere. I'm not going to let this deter me! I LOVE games and gaming and I have talent as a programmer. But can anyone tell me why I might be missing these files, and where I might get them? I did NOT install the directx 8 runtime when I installed the SDK because I already have DX9 on my PC and I think it would be bad to overwrite the newer version with the older one. But I wouldn't think that the .h files would be used by the runtime anyways. Help from some game gurus? Thanks for any bone you can throw me! ------------------------ Don't follow me - I'm lost! [edited by - progrmr on May 6, 2003 2:39:46 PM] [edited by - progrmr on May 6, 2003 3:06:09 PM]

I tried downloading the DirectX 9 SDK for C/C++, but the files are not included in that package either.