Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

timmay314

Windowed vs Fullscreen

I'm new to DirectX, and I was wondering what the advantages of using a full screen app versus a windowed app are? I'm planning on writing a program to model various physical interactions of objects, and I am trying to figure out which I should use. I assume you can use dialog boxes with windowed, but can you with full screen, or do you need to make your own version of a dialog box somehow? Does windowed hurt your frame rate because you don't have unrestricted access to your video card? Anything you could tell me would be nice. [edited by - timmay314 on May 6, 2003 5:37:29 PM]

Full-screen apps are really good for when you want something to take up the whole screen. Windowed apps are good for when you want the program to run in a window, as apposed to taking up the whole screen.

surprisingly, it seems that Windowed mode is actually faster in many cases.

I know this sounds contrary to expectations, but the classic example is that Flight Simulator 2002 runs better in windowed mode... I''m sure there are articles on the MS web site related to why windowed mode DX renders faster in various cases.

As for dialogs, I am able to make them appear even in full screen, even though it looks goofy..

www.cppnow.com

If you are talking about a final product, I would prefer letting the user be able to switch between the two with full screen mode being the default. During the development phase, running in windowed mode would be your best bet because it is easier to debug with and easier to recover from in case your program crashes. The game that I am developing has the ability to run in both modes.

As far as frame rate goes, I notice my game runs faster in windowed mode except when it is not the focus window (but then you dont care how fast it is)