Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Equivalent to DDSurfaces in DirectX 8?

This topic is 5336 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''m sure this has been asked many times but my search didn''t find anything so I apologize in advance. I''m still a DX noob as I started learning it with DX8. I''ve never fully understood what surfaces are as I''ve never had to use one before. I''m working off a sample that uses procedural textures which uses LPDIRECTDRAWSURFACE7. I am trying to keep this DX8 and newer and without these surfaces, I have no idea how to finish coding my special effect. I know that they did away with DirectDraw for DX8 so what''s the equivalent to a DirectDrawSurface in 8? My guess is ID3DXRenderToSurface. If so, is it problematic to port DD7 code to this (what gotchas should I look out for?) or will it be fairly straightforward? Thanks

I guess what I should ask at this point is where I can find the similar functionality to DD7 surfaces in these D3D8 surfaces. For example, the demo I am looking at is using gets the DDSURFACEDESC2 then locks the surface and then fills in each pixel data (using data in the DDSURFACEDESC2 to shift bits around) then unlocks the surface. All I can see that this D3D8 surface can do is Lock and Unlock rects. Where''s all the functionality to actually manipulate the surface? Where''s the Blt function?

I think I have this RenderToSurface thing figured out with textures and surfaces but I just can''t find any useful functions. I know they gotta be around here somewhere. Please help me!

I was going to reply earlier but I didn''t because I didn''t know what your example was doing. Now that I do I''ll continue with my original reply.