Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

new to programming

This topic is 5332 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, im pretty new to any programming besides web programming. I know very little c++ im about 4 chapters into my book and i was wondering if i would be able to learn opengl without really knowing any c++?

Guest Anonymous Poster
Not really you have to grasp the language completely before you are able to do anything trying to learn OpenGl/DX is a waste of time if you don''t grasp c++ completely.

As I recall there are other languages that are able to interface with OpenGL (although as I recall, its native language is C); however, attempting to learn an API such as OpenGL without first knowing some suitable programming language would be utterly pointless.

You could actually learn OpenGL by knowing only C which is easier and also quicker to learn than C++. But I think you would have to learn C++ later down the road, if you plan on becoming a serious game programmer.

Yes, but it would be the hardest thing you''d ever do in your life.

- Rob Loach
Current Project: Go Through Object-Oriented Programming in C++ by Robert Lafore

"Do or do not. There is no try."
- Yoda

openGL is a library of C functions. You''ve probably learned some functions already, such as printf() and scanf(). You''ve most likely written some functions yourself, like member functions to classes you''ve written. The point is that knowing those functions is pretty useless if you don''t know how to put them together in a program. openGL and D3d are useless by themselves.