Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Java or DirectX/C++

This topic is 5303 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I was an eager game programmer a year ago, unfortunately I fell off, but now i''m back on stream, but i''m not sure what to put my energies into, should I bother perfecting my DirectX game programming, or should I jump into java. Pros for stayin with DirectX I''ve already written a game or two, and I was really hoping to build a few more and venture into the world of 3D graphics. As far as I can remember C++/DirectX is still what most games are being made in today Cons for stayin with DirectX Its getting old, Java is new, what will the market look like 5 years from now Pros for Java I love the wireless game programming thing, I really want to explore the possibilities, but Java is still not a standard in that area, and there''s no telling which programming language will win that fight Cons for Java Its slow, and I want to build fast games, games that I can show my friends and they ask me if I downloaded it or I really made it Help, someone, I''d love to do both, but I dont want to try to learn too much at one time, especially since I''ve taken up internet programming again, and I''m getting ready for school in september, this is the summer when I want to get really good at something "Jus chillin waiting for my time to shine" #define ALEX_DENNIS

Just to let you know, a good java VM with support for tech. such aas hot spot and just in time, can be close, and in some instances, faster than c++. I''m not trying to start a flame war, just letting you know that java optimized and used for the right problems, can still be very fast. If you are looking at the mobile market, java can really put you in there quickly with java ME