Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Using WM_CHAR???

This topic is 5309 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok im new to using opengl and i wanted to have my program take in a string and then display it....very simple...how would i go about doing this...i know i have to use WM_CHAR but could someone give an example how to write and use it for this purpose...im very confused about this and any help would be greatly appreciated

case WM_CHAR:
{
while(!keys[VK_RETURN])
{
stream+=getch();
glPrint("%s",stream);
if(keys[VK_RETURN])
{
BarcodeLookUp(stream);
stream=" ";
}
return 0;
}

i have no clue how to just input a string from the user to be displayed and then passed on into a function later on....anyone know how to do this...just take in input from the user and dispay it...i really need the help...

ok i guess im talking to myself but thats cool...cause i guess no one really knows how to do this....*sarcasm....but i did get it to print when the keyboard is hit...but all its printing is zeros...

case VK_DOWN:
{
keys[256] = TRUE;
glPrint("%d",keys[VK_DOWN]);
}

case VK_UP:
{
keys[256] = FALSE;
}

Well, I'll try to answer it. You want to use the WM_CHAR message from Windows to get input from the user? Simple.

char sMessage[1024];

LRESULT CALLBACK WndProc(HWND hWnd, UINT msg,
WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{

switch(msg)
{

case WM_CHAR:
{

// Set the key pressed as down...

bKeys[wParam] = TRUE;

// Check for the Enter key...

if(bKeys[VK_RETURN]) memset(sMessage, 0, sizeof(char) * 1024);

// Add any key press to the message...

if(strlen(sMessage) < 1024) strcat(sMessage, (char)wParam);

// Set the key pressed as up...

bKeys[wParam] = FALSE;

}

}

}