Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

im a beginner

This topic is 5305 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi everyone im jsut beginning to learn C++ and im confused about this tutorial code i coded with sams teachyourself c++ in 24 hours boook heres the code: #include <iostream.h> #include <stdlib.h> int Add (int x, int y) { std::cout << "In Add (), received " << x << " and " << y << "\n"; return (x+y); } int main() { std::cout << "I''m in main()!\n"; std::cout << "\nCalling Add() \n"; std::cout << "The value returned is: " << Add (3,4); std::cout << "\nBack in main ().\n"; return 0; system("PAUSE"); } can someone here do an analysis of how this code works like explain to me what each line does. thanks

I would suggest you continue reading the book. It would take a poor beginner''s book indeed to fail to adequately explain its own example code. If you are still confused, please come back with more specific questions (what, exactly, do you not understand?).

Hey man, I had the same problem when i started learning C++ with that book.

First of all, Add() is a function.

In int main(), Add(3,4) is call which is saying to pass the int value 3 and 4 into the function Add(). We pass 3,4 because Add() has to int parameters. We can replace 3 and 4 with other integers.

Once 3 and 4 has been pass, x becomes 3 and y becomes 4.

In the function Add(), It first display the value x and y which is 3 and 4.

Last it did a return(x+y);

As you see, Add returns int because it is

int Add(int x, int y)

so if it is int, it can return int. if it is float, it can return float.

float Add(float x, float y)

if it is void, then

void Add(int x, int y) , you cannot return anything since it is expecting void.

So by having return(x+y); it is return the sum of x and y which is 7.

Hopefully this helps.

Peace out