Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

i just have to ask u guys...

This topic is 5309 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

if you self taught yourself, how long did it take you to finish your c++ book. and in your learning process how many times did you quit? you really cant give up on this stuff if you want to leaarn it. i''ve been debugging a small peice of code for hours!!!

I am a seat of my pants learner, starting with C in the early 90''s..

Hours? Sometimes it takes me a week to hammer out a ''simple'' function, usually due to my lack of knowledge in a certain areas which I have to research, be it the API, GDI, DX, opengl, or OOP.. then I look back to see how long it took which gets frustrating at times.. then I tell myself I learned something new which inflates my ego and I come out with full guns blazing until I get shot down by some other twerp who can do the same thing in half the code/time..

It''s all relative, no need to sweat or panic over it, when you get it you will get it. To learn C++, I am doing the ''invention is the mother of necessity'' type mentality.. code something that would be useful to me/others and introduce stuff into the code you''ve never used before.. if it doesn''t work as intended, code it the way you know, complete it and go on to the next project.. little by little you will see the light.. which is down a long dark tunnel btw..

hope that helps

I fseek, therefore I fam.

Yea i kinda guessed that but i needed to hear it from someone experienced cause i dont really talk to many coders (yet). thanks for the reply. i definately see myself trying to invent new things with c++. when im not by my computer i usualy grab a pen and paper lately and write code to try out when i get home. makes the whole thing more exciting....

"Hello World!!!"