Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Text file parsing

This topic is 5301 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I need to open a text file (an .asc file actually) and parse out the vertex data and index data. However, I have zero experience with c++ file i/o or tokenizing. Could someone offer some insight, or offer a link to a good tutorial?

Guest Anonymous Poster
Check this site out:
http://www.opengroup.org/onlinepubs/007908799/xsh/stdio.h.html

There I hope that helps a little you can also try using iostream.h just search for it on google.

Guest Anonymous Poster
Ok no sweat...check these two out:

http://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial/lesson10.html
http://www.cpp-home.com/FileIO_tutorial.php

Search for "file I/O tutorial" or something like that on google, you might find something there...Though the only page I found useful for file I/O was the first one I gave you. Anybody else got links to better tutorials?

Okay, here''s what I have so far:

int loadASC(char *path) //load ASC model data

{
FILE *pASC;
int filesize;
char *buffer;

int vindex;

pASC = fopen(path, "rb");
if (pASC == NULL)
return 0;

fseek(pASC, 0, SEEK_END);
filesize = ftell(pASC);
fseek(pASC, 0, SEEK_SET);

buffer = (char*)malloc(filesize + 1);
fread(buffer, sizeof(char), filesize, pASC);
}

I''ve read the whole thing into the buffer, but how do I go about rooting around the text stored in the buffer?

You''re reading that file in binary mode, not ASCII mode. You probably want to replace

pASC = fopen(path, "rb");
with
pASC = fopen(path, "r");