Text file parsing

Started by
14 comments, last by tmoneyksu 20 years, 10 months ago
I need to open a text file (an .asc file actually) and parse out the vertex data and index data. However, I have zero experience with c++ file i/o or tokenizing. Could someone offer some insight, or offer a link to a good tutorial?
Super-newb extraordinaire.
Advertisement
Check this site out:
http://www.opengroup.org/onlinepubs/007908799/xsh/stdio.h.html

There I hope that helps a little you can also try using iostream.h just search for it on google.
While that''s a valuable reference, and I appreciate the input, I could use something a little more newbie-oriented. I hate to be picky, but sample code and a good explanation is what I had in mind.
Ok no sweat...check these two out:

http://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial/lesson10.html
http://www.cpp-home.com/FileIO_tutorial.php

Search for "file I/O tutorial" or something like that on google, you might find something there...Though the only page I found useful for file I/O was the first one I gave you. Anybody else got links to better tutorials?
Okay, here''s what I have so far:

int loadASC(char *path) //load ASC model data{	FILE *pASC;	int filesize;	char *buffer;	int vindex;	pASC = fopen(path, "rb");	if (pASC == NULL)		return 0;	fseek(pASC, 0, SEEK_END);	filesize = ftell(pASC);	fseek(pASC, 0, SEEK_SET);	buffer = (char*)malloc(filesize + 1);	fread(buffer, sizeof(char), filesize, pASC);}

I''ve read the whole thing into the buffer, but how do I go about rooting around the text stored in the buffer?
You''re reading that file in binary mode, not ASCII mode. You probably want to replace

pASC = fopen(path, "rb");
with
pASC = fopen(path, "r");