• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Scarmonkey

Newbie , but not fully a newb... need book

This topic is 5660 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I need a book that will teach me more c++. Like the Subject said I am a newbie at c++, But i have had experience with it I have taken a course on it and can make text based games and stuff. I have gone through most of a c++ book, but when the course ended they took away my book so need another one (preferably an online one). I know the basics of c++ (cout, cin ) if/else/switch etc etc.. the basics can anyone help?

Advertisement
quote:
Original post by Marjolein
www.bruceeckel.com
Thinking in C++ online, free for download
Don''t know if it''s a good book, never read it

I don''t like it - but then many live by it. So it''s definitely worth trying out.

I''d recomment two classics tho'':

C++ Primer by Lippman and Lajoie

AND

The C++ Programming Langauge by Bjarne Stroustrup.

Two excellent books.

-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction.

do you think i should just go to openGl or should i go through the 21 days thing AND learn a bunch more? Does that have boolean statements and the really complicated shiz?

It covers almost everything you would encounter syntax-wise and goes to a reasonable depth into the standard libraries. BTW, boolean statements are no where near complicated.

I don''t know I just don''t get the boolean statements, and those damn class and string things really get me confused!

quote:
Original post by Scarmonkey
I don''t know I just don''t get the boolean statements, and those damn class and string things really get me confused!