Global Variable Concept Questions...

Started by
5 comments, last by Chryzmo 20 years, 10 months ago
I was poking around on these forums and it seems people discourage the use of global variables. I was wondering how come? I used some in a project of mine. I am still very new to C++, so this project was just to see if I coudl put what I had just read together into something useful. My project was a text-based RPG battle type game. I had seperate .cpp fikes for the battle and the shop. There were a number of values I felt needed to be carried over to each section of the program. Basically, they were money, health, and power(how much damage the player could do per turn). So, I used global variables. Is this bad or is it just a situation where global variables are necessary? I am not sure whether of not the source code would help, but I do not have it on this computer. If you think it may help I can get it tommarrow and post it. Thanks, Chris
Advertisement
Go back and try to add a second character to the game, keeping track of each character''s seperate money, health, and power. Then, you''ll begin to see one of the problems with global variables.
quote:Original post by kdogg
Go back and try to add a second character to the game, keeping track of each character''s seperate money, health, and power. Then, you''ll begin to see one of the problems with global variables.

hehe that''s a lot of stuff to keep track of isn''t it?

If you haven''t done so already I would recommend that you at least group all those stats/atributes/hp/whatnots into a struct and then you can just create as many chars as you want using that struct. Perhaps even better you can create a class just for the character.

--{You fight like a dairy farmer!}

Sometimes global variables are neccesary. for example I have to have all my SDL surfaces global as they are referenced from different bits, and youy can''t have one type inside another, according to the error messages I got when I tried.