• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

skow

Independent game development time

This topic is 5573 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''ve made several smaller games, that have taken anywhere from a few weeks to a month to make. Recently i''ve worked on a 3d space shooter, and ive been working on the game for 6 months, and i think I''m about 1/2 done. This is working about 5-25 hours a week on it, witha few weeeks off. I''m just wondering about those who are working on their own games; whats the longist you have worked on a game. Am I aiming to large for a game made by 1 persion? Just starting to wonder if ill ever get done Just seeing how many others are working endlessly on a game.

Advertisement
Well for me it took anywhere from a few hours (a MessageBox generator,not even OpenGL,hehe), to 5 months of developing an engine that was actually based on pieces from another engine(s) from the past,so I should say another few months added...
You can see my work at F->Final Dream,if you haven`t already...

Ok, I''ve been working on my engine for over a year now. Well, from its very first incarnation ( though, there''s nothing left of it in the code anymore ), for over two years... And it''s still no where near done.

Death of one is a tragedy, death of a million is just a statistic.

Usually when I create a game it's an ongoing process since I keep trying to make it better. Onen full game I made (Spherical Vengeance) took around 4 months to do the game (Fixed it up a bit a few times after that, but the gameplay was time in that time frame). My longest game that I've been working on is probably the hockey game (going on 4 years now). Of course, off and on - mostly off, but it's still technically being worked on - and it is a HUGE project

[edited by - lp23 on June 19, 2003 4:35:45 PM]