• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

flyingbuddha

New game programmer but with good programming knowledge

This topic is 5482 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, Ive got some ideas in my head for a game I would like to create, but I have no game programming experience, other than moving a character across the screen (without double-buffering). Apart from this, I have a pretty sound understanding of programming in general (I know 16 languages). I am really interested in the idea of mass multi-player games over the Internet. My first question is, which language is best for getting a result? I know C, but never tried C++, and know only a little Java, but reckon I could enhance knowledge of it if need be. I want to make my game as multi-platformed as possible, I dont know anything about programming directX or any graphical code like I said (but arn''t they Windows only?) How would you suggest starting out? Ive ordered a multi-player game programming book, but thats based on directX. I really want to sink my teeth in, without having to go through all that basic stuff first. Please advise. Regards, Mike. --- http://www.MikeHolloway.co.uk

Advertisement
quote:
I want to make my game as multi-platformed as possible

Go with C++ or Java with OpenGL.