• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Vivii

errr help plz

This topic is 5654 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''ve recently bought a book on C++ programming so that a can self teach myself.C++ Programming for the absolute beginner by Dirk Henkemans and Mark lee.Someone recommended it to me as a good place to start. The problem is that it all the code it shows is writting using a program called CodeWarrior and when I put the same code (EXACTLY the same) into my version of C++ it produces errors. I can get the program to do what it''s meant to by changing a the library from iostream to std*** and then some of the commands like "cout" to "printf" as the code in the book is using completely different libraries and commands it''s going to hard to work out the one''s for my version of C++. Anyone know where I could get the libraries from so I don''t have to keep trying each one out? OR I''ve got microsofts Visual C++ 6.0, and I don''t really want to buy another version of C++ because I can''t really afford to just yet. Any other books that are for the beginner and lead up to basic games that aren''t epensive? Thx for any help in advance

Advertisement
Well with simple C++ the code should work in any compiler really. Post the code you're having trouble here and I (or someone else) will have a look at it.

[edited by - Monder on June 19, 2003 4:55:51 AM]

I''ve been fiddling some more and I don''t think the code is wrong, it''s just when I''m creating a new project I''m creating the wrong sort.
the book says create a win32 C/C++ Application Stationary then select C++ Console App.
I ain''t got a clue which 1 to choose on mine I can choose from :-
Win32 Application
Win32 Console Application
Win32 Dynamic-Link Library
Win32 Static Library

then

An empty Project
a simple application