Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Agent__X

Is this noob blues?

I am a novice C programmer (and in the process of learning C++). I can write silly little DOS programs like you see used as examples in programming tutorials (you know, address books, feet-to-meter converters, etc.). When I open, hmm...lets say, the Quake3 SDK and start looking at the lines and lines of code I draw a blank. I understand it on a line by line basis...like I find myself thinking "Oh look there''s a pointer to an element of a structure", and "Okay that''s a function definition there", and "Uh-huh, he''s declaring some variables there"...but I don''t have a clue how to go about adding anything of my own or changing anything. Do you guys (the veteran coders out there) have to flowchart the source code out before you start messing with it? How do I know where to start? This is the single greatest hurdle for me. I have thought that after I learn C++, I''d pick up a book on OpenGL or DirectX and start coding my own simple engine to better understand whats what. Any tips would be helpful...

A lot of it is planning ahead. A lot of it is also having programmed it yourself. It''s kind of hard to just jump into a several thousand (if not hundred) line program and understand everything.