Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jack_1313

The average programmer...

I am wondering, what do you think the average age to begin programming is. I''ve noticed programmers are getting younger and younger. How old are were you when you began programing? How did you get into it and learn? What percentage of people here work alone and make games as a hobby, compared to working in a team or working professionaly? Me? I am fourteen and I started programming about a year ago. I learnt C++ and DirectX from the internet, with no outside help. I used to think programmers were all people in their 40s who had spent years learing to do it, but over the last 6 months I have come to realise that it is more like 15 yr olds who want to make games and decided to do something about it.

Yes, but the real question is who sticks to it their whole life? Kids mostly start out programming so that they can make a game but after a while they realize that it''s easier said then done. It''s some psychological thing that I''ve seen in the past year of people giving up because it gets boring or they want to do something easier. I''ve seen stuff like this happen. Sometimes people find the whole logic thing total and utter crap when they learn it so they find programming harder. Then some try to go ahead of theirselves and try to learn everything all at once. They don''t realize how long it actually takes to become a programmer and make games. By the way, I''m 15.

There''s no town drunk here, we all take turns.

quote:
Original post by Ekim_Gram