Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

qadir

Stars

Hi, I''m an absolute newbie, so I decided to start with something as simple as a starfield written in C. It is just a basic plotting of pixels randomly on the screen and then changing their positions. My code is somewhat as follows /* Get the current device context */ hdc = GetDC(hwnd); /* Set up a buffer device context */ bufdc = CreateCompatibleDC(hdc); I''m using SetPixel to plot the changed pixels onto the new DC i.e bufdc and then trying to load it into memory using BitBlt(hdc,0,0,rect.right,rect.bottom,bufdc,0,0,SRCCOPY) However, I just can''t get it to work. Could someone please help as to where I''m going wrong. Also ant advice as to what a rank newcomer such as me might read, would be greatly appreciated Thx Qadir All Sprites are created equal

Is this DirectX you are using? If so, you do not need to blit anything to the screen. when you plot a pixel, that''s exactly what it does..

If you don''t have a backbuffer then it should just show up on the screen with no additional work required.

Well, I'm not using directX, I've directly used GetDC to get the handle to device context.

If I use

SetPixel(hdc,400,400,RGB(red,green,blue));

I can see the pixel on screen. So I thought I would write the pixels to a buffer DC which I got using GetCompatibleDC and once the pixels have been plotted I would use BitBlt to transfer the pixels from bufdc to hdc.

When I say it doesn't work, I mean that the pixels written on dc remain, while the pixels on bufdc fail to appear. Its as if BitBlt has no effect. However if I pass the parameter as WHITENESS instead of SRCCOPY, the screen turns white so I know BitBlt is working.

I think there might be some other problem, since even the pixels on hdc disappear if I minimise the window and then remaximise it

[edited by - qadir on July 5, 2003 5:47:00 AM]