Static Variables

Started by
9 comments, last by D_JildQuantum 20 years, 9 months ago
I have been teaching myselfVisual C++ for 2 years, and i usually dont post here because i dont need to, but i just realized, i never came across what a static variable actually is... i was looking at a friends code, and saw a static variable, but i cant ask him becuase he wont be on for 2 months as he has gone on vacation. here is his example:

class CApplication
{
//other stuff here

public:
//more stuff
static int Execute(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nShowCmd);
}

sorry if its a stupid queston -.-
Quantum
Advertisement
Static vars are the same for all instances of your class, so if you have 20 instances of this class:
class CSomeClass{public:// Some stuff hereprivate:static int theBestestIntEvar;}; 

there would still only be one theBestestIntEvar. From your member functions, you access it just as if it was a normal member, but from outside of your class, you access it like:
CSomeClass::theBestestIntEvar = 1337;

"For crying out loud, she has fishes coming out of her head on either side. How can you find this hot?!"

"If anyone sees a suspicious, camouflaged factory being carried across the desert, they should report it immediately."
That is true but in his case Execute is a static member function which basicly means it a regular function but is in CApplication''s namespace and can be inherited. It also means it can be accessed without an instance of CApplication and can''t use any of CApplication''s member variables.
ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
quote:Original post by Yohumbus
That is true but in his case Execute is a static member function which basicly means it a regular function but is in CApplication''s namespace and can be inherited. It also means it can be accessed without an instance of CApplication and can''t use any of CApplication''s member variables.