Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

zip_256

DirectX or OpenGL???

Hello everyone. I am a somewhat new programmer to the Windows environment, I''ve played around in DOS for years, and I was wondering what would be best to learn for game programming, DirectX or OpenGL. Which is easiest to learn? Which one is most powerful? I know that DX only works in a Windows environment, but how adaptable is OpenGL? Would it be incredibly hard to learn both or should I just focus on getting good at one? I want to eventually work my way up to 3D games; I know that DX has D3D that makes 3D games somewhat more simple, but does OpenGL have any type of 3D acceleration/support? I know basically what DX is capable of, but what all can OpenGL do? Thanks for your advice in advance!

umm... OpenGL == DirectX, please don''t ask for any more details. whatever u can do in DX, u can do in OpenGL. etc. both are the same, support same cards (only OGL goes further than just Windows), etc.

so YOU pick yourself. =\

http://nehe.gamedev.net/data/lessons/lesson.asp?lesson=01 - getting started w/ OpenGL

whoever''s a DX person, give him a beginner DX tutorial so that he could choose between the two.

/me hide under a flame resistant rock.

---
shurcool
wwdev

quote:
Original post by Ekim_Gram
*Puts on fire proof suit*

There's no town drunk here, we all take turns.
Velocity Gaming Force

lol, Yea this is the mother of flame wars...

The quick answer for this would be just choose between the one you feel most confortable with, the answer to your question is in this site(I believe it's in the FAQs section not sure though). You can make a search on the forum this question comes up all the time so a lot will come up...

[edited by - FtMonkey on July 27, 2003 11:41:13 PM]

I see that the debate is a delicate topic, lol. I am reading the artical that Promit posted and it is very. Sorry for clouding the forum with this topic Thanks for your quick replies though!

-zip