Surface Locking Help!

Started by
5 comments, last by Chipcrap 23 years, 9 months ago
Hi everyone-I''m new here. Here''s me problem. I''ve done all the DirectDraw initilization stuff-but when I try to Lock a surface the program just shuts down when I run it. If take that line out-the program runs fine-doesn''t do anything-but runs just fine? Any suggestions? The code is here: http://xrelix.tripod.com/program.htm The line thats causing the problem is this: DDS->Lock(NULL, &DDSD, DDLOCK_SURFACEMEMORYPTR / DDLOCK_WAIT, NULL); Thanks ALL! Oh and flame me if you wish! I am a supa NEWBIE!
Advertisement
Well.. unless you wrote the line wrong in the message, the line should be

DDS->Lock(NULL, &DDSD, DDLOCK_SURFACEMEMORYPTR / DDLOCK_WAIT, NULL);

The / is supposed to be a /

/ is for dividing. / is for logically ORing two values together.

When you OR something you are comparing each of the bits in a number using a logical OR. Therefore if I ORed the two binary numbers 1010 and 1001 my result would be 1011. This is just because if you stick one number on top of the other and compare each bit anywhere there''s a 1, the answer is 1.

like this:

1010 OR
----

Then the value that comes out after the OR is performed is compared in some value list Microsoft has somewhere and that value references to what you want.

I know this is a ton of information but when I ask a question I like the answer yes, but I also like the person to explain exactly why the answer is what it is. Thus, in order to not be a hypocrite, I''m going to do the same.

hope I helped.. and I hope I didn''t just explain something you already knew. =)

-shpook

That pisses me off. You can pretty much disregard my entire previous message. I didn''t know the board automatically converts the vertical lines to divide lines.

So my entire above message was based on a problem that didn''t even exist.