Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tubby

Young Programmer, Needs Help

Tubby    122
Hello, I am 13 years old. I have been playing games ever since I got my first computer. Instead of buying all the new Everquests and Dark age of Camelots, I went to yard sales and older computer stores that had games like Spear of Destiny, Doom 1 and 2, Herectic. I played them and beat them on my old Pentium 2 386. I was suprised because they ran nicely. I have been playing Starcraft and Diablo for 2 years. With all the clans and "bots", I picked un Visual Basic. The guys at the local computer store encouarged me to try and learn it know. My Dad went to see his friend at his job, my dad''s friend was a book store manager. I went and looked for a VB6 book. The Game Programming All in One book caught my eye. I knew there that I wanted to make a game. I asked for it and my dad said that he had to come back here the next so He would get it then. I looked it up online and I found out it wasnt that good. I went to library for my summer reading books. I also rented Masters of Doom. I have like 50 or so pages left. Reading what I have and playing the games, I have decided that I would like to learn Game Programming. I know it takes C++. What are some good books, online tutorials, and anything else that will help me. I think it would be cool to play something that I made.

Nik02    4348
quote:
Original post by Tubby

I played them and beat them on my old Pentium 2 386.

We can''t help you with that particular machine

Start slowly, learn c++ first (good start!), do some simple programs to test your programming knowledge.
Once you''re fairly confident with the language of your choice, start planning on programming simple games.

I know, it takes time.
Nobody said it would be easy.

kind rgds, Nik

Tubby    122