Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DORKUS

Scaling Problem

I've being having a problem with openGL. I'm a newbie so I wanted to know if someone could help. I have a particle engine that I have working but when I change my perspective using gluPerspective then the size of the flame remains the same despite me using glScale to change it. Also the transparency effects I was using are all screwed up now. Before it would draw a cube and show the flame coming out of the top of the cube. Now the cube is transparent or something. It's weird. If someone can help me out her I would really appreciate it. Here's some of the code I'm using:
static float theta = 0;
// OpenGL animation code

glClearColor(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);
glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT );
theta++;

glLoadIdentity();
gluLookAt(cos(DegRad(theta)) * 5, 0, sin(DegRad(theta)) * 5, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0);
glScalef(.5, .5, .5);
glColor4f(1, 1, 1, 1);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, crate);
glDisable(GL_BLEND);
glBegin(GL_QUADS);
   //Render cube here

glEnd();

//start particle, num of particles, size x, size y, size z	

ParticleEffect(0, MAX_PARTICLES, 0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f);

SwapBuffers( hDC );
--The glass is neither half empty nor half full it just has water in it so get a refill if you need to-- [edited by - DORKUS on August 8, 2003 11:57:54 PM] [edited by - DORKUS on August 9, 2003 2:45:19 PM]

I've also being able to find out that the blending get's messed up when I use glOrtho as well as gluPerspective. If this helps at all. I also noticed that the flame(Particle Effect) is distorted as well. When the transperency is screwed up and shows part of the flame the part inside the box is larger then the part outside of the box. Here's my particle effect code if you think that might help.

float mat[16];
int loop;
glGetFloatv(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX, mat);
glPushAttrib(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
glPushAttrib(GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
glPushAttrib(GL_ENABLE_BIT);