Threads

Started by
6 comments, last by Shannon Barber 23 years, 10 months ago
How bad of an idea is it to use a few threads to perform the various functions required by a game? One for rendering, one for IO, one for AI? (I program Dyno software for a living - big testing machines for stuff - and we use a number of threads...)
- The trade-off between price and quality does not exist in Japan. Rather, the idea that high quality brings on cost reduction is widely accepted.-- Tajima & Matsubara
Advertisement
probably a good idea!
Sounds okay in principle. For flash people with multiple proccessors it should run a breeze. I don''t think that people on single processors will notice any difference.

I''m sure that people will have a go if I''m wrong.
It''ll be a good excuse to give my wife when I go buy a dual thunderbird MB & two chips
- The trade-off between price and quality does not exist in Japan. Rather, the idea that high quality brings on cost reduction is widely accepted.-- Tajima & Matsubara
I don''t know; seperating rendering from logic could make the game a little jumpy. But for IO it should be fine.

lntakitopi@aol.com | http://geocities.com/guanajam/