Help please

Started by
5 comments, last by Dajymster 20 years, 8 months ago
hello everyone. Sorry im new. so a few questions. First which programs should i use for creating games(im a noob). I wanted to hear from YOU guys. and whats the best book? And the best graphical editor out that can be afforded.
Advertisement
<< First which programs should i use for creating games(im a noob). >>

Oh my gosh another one. They keep coming. What you doing up so late anyway?

Check out the excellent articles on this forum. Contains material on the language C/C++, Win32 programming, DirectX, OpenGL. But start slow.

See the links above, start with For Beginners

Phil P
Thanks....i think. Hey man i just started and only have some clue what i need to get. What about that Milkshape program. is it any good at creating levels?
ahhh...milkshape is not for creating levels, if you want to create level you can use 3D studio max or Maya but they are expansive.If your game can load BSP levels then you can use quake editor.
I create my levels (for my game in progress) in notepad.

My point? To create levels, you must save some data to a file that your game can read. Which means that before doing even your first level, your game must be able to load levels (or you need to know exactly what the file format will be).

Besides, Milkshape is a 3D modeller. Does this mean you are planning to start on a 3D game already? Watch out, that''s a tough way of getting started.
quote:Original post by Dajymster
hello everyone. Sorry im new. so a few questions. First which programs should i use for creating games(im a noob). I wanted to hear from YOU guys. and whats the best book? And the best graphical editor out that can be afforded.

Oh dear...

These days, almost nobody creates all of a game themselves. What specific area are you interested in?