Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Lionheartadi

Rendering alot of particles in DirectX.

Lionheartadi    154
Hi I have a general wondering about rendering particles in DirectX. I am new to particle engine stuff so I need some help on this mater. I have done some particle exercises in OpenGL, but rendering stuff in OpenGL is a bit different than in DirectX. This is due to the vertex and index buffer, which are good tool. I am wondering how to render alot of particles with the use of the buffers. My first idea was to take a certain amount of particles lets say 100(dunno if it''s alot bu it will do). Anyway, if I would make a particle so that it will consist of two triangles creating a quad that is textured with the desired texture. Now 100 x 2 would make 200 triangles. At my first idea I thought to put all of these triangles in one vertex buffer and rendering them as triangle list, but then I though what will happen when I try to apply a texture or texture on these perticles. I don''t know how to do it the right way. I mean creating for evey particle it''s own vertex buffer and render them that way would be a loss of speed and resources. Is there a way to assign desired textures for desired triangles in the vertex buffer... or something. I really don''t know. Please give me some tips, help, ideas how to render particles in DirectX. Thank you for any help possible.

Look up point sprites. There is an example in the DirectX SDK but you may find it too involved and complicated so try google. Basically, point sprites are where you fill your vertex buffer with points (point list). These points are the centre of your individual particles. The texture you have selected is used for rendering the particles and is automatically scaled around each point based on min and max sizes you stipulate. They are billboarded automatically to the camera too.