• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Website Books: From a programmers view

This topic is 5302 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, sorry if this is in the wrong forum, but I guess this falls under General. I''m looking for some good books to get me started on the mechanics of a web site (is this called the backend?), not books on design. Some keywords I''ve heard around (and correct me if these don''t have anything to do with what I want) are PHP,mySQL and ASP. I have quite a bit of experience programming in other languages (c++), so I''m not looking for a complete beginner book ("this is a variable etc."). I know enough HTML to create simple pages, but not enough to create large sites with dynamic content. Thank you.

Advertisement
If you''re familiar with C++ then PHP is probably the easiest choice. I''ve only used Sam''s Teach Yourself PHP In 24 Hours but I find it better as a very basic reference than as a good learning book. It also covers some basics of SQL in it''s chapter about databases but if you''re working with SQL you''re going to want a book on SQL itself.

PHP.net has some tutorials and an MSDN-like library for anything you need to know about PHP.

Qui fut tout, et qui ne fut rien
Invader''s Realm

I''m not exactly sure what aspect of web developement you are interested in, so I''ll give some suggestions.

If you are looking to create database driven websites, then yes, you should learn what''s called a server side language . Note that learning a server side language will not give you the power to display elements on a page, and in fact gives you very little, if any at all, control over how the page looks.