• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PelleTM

Hey! I need some H E L P! :-)

This topic is 5540 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am on a quest to make a 3D game. I''ve learnt some basic stuff about programming. DOS applications mostly, but I don''t remember that much of it. However, I have some experience with general loops and such things, and I am not an idiot either so I have confidence in my quest. The only problem is when it comes to Maths, since you all speak English on these forums it''s hard to translate all the concept to Swedish, but I hope that will solve itself as well. So my questions are; 1) What do I need to learn do make a DOOM I type 3d engine? 2) What langugage to I code in, etc? 3) Are there some good tutorials on this, and need I buy some books? 4) Would it be stupid to make a DOOM I type engine instead of a more advanced one, even for a beginner? I''m planning to have it done in 6 months or so, but I have limited time to learn and script it as well. 5) Would it take a lot of time to make a game using an engine? Again DOOM I.

Advertisement
well i am a beginner also, i just made a simple 2d alien invader type game, but i try to answer a few things anyway.

> 1) What do I need to learn do make a DOOM I type 3d engine?
i'd say OpenGL, and Math

> 2) What langugage to I code in, etc?
C++ (notice the ++)

> 3) Are there some good tutorials on this, and need I buy some > books?
books are nice to look things up, i am sure you'll find some good book to buy on this site.

> 4) Would it be stupid to make a DOOM I type engine instead of a more advanced one, even for a beginner? I'm planning to have it done in 6 months or so, but I have limited time to learn and script it as well.