Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ehsen

is there any alternative of C++

ehsen    122
I am a newbie in game development. In my previous post many people advised me to learn C++ but you guys can understand that migrating from visual basic to C++ is a big porblem besides this i am also learning Maya so it is also a tough job. The people advised me to learn C++ because of its performance. But i have seen many games which created in vb and they work well and also its easy for me to use direct x in vb. what''s your idea if i use vb in game development. Because i think an expert vb programer is better that bad c++ programer.

neurokaotix    100
Yeah, a lot of people say that you should try something like Visual Basic before you go to C++, which, in my opinion, is some stupid ass advise. I programmed in VB for about 3 years and I personally think that while the programming expirience was good, the techniques I learned in VB made C++ very hard to learn at first. I had no idea how a .cpp file associated with a .h and how they somehow know how to compile. I mean now it''s different... now I''m a super-duper programmer.

But anyway, just learn C++. Like Nike says, JUST DO IT.

James Simmons
MindEngine Development
http://medev.sourceforge.net

twix    636
quote:
Original post by cowsarenotevil
I'd learn both at some point, it's up to you which to start with, though. Languages die out often, so it's best not to invest all of your time in one.

Hmm? What languages have died during your lifetime?

Personally, if you only know VB, I think learning C++ would be worth it. I found it a lot more fun. Of course, there are a lot of languages that are more fun than C++. ^_^

[edited by - twix on August 31, 2003 3:40:10 PM]

PhiberOptic    128