3D Problem Huge Z Increments

Started by
10 comments, last by CoiN 20 years, 7 months ago
Lo all, I don''t know if the post title made any sense but I couldn''t think of anything else. My problems is basically this: I am creating a very basic 3D Wireframe app, just for learning purposes, and I have never done any 3D before. In my 3d space the x and y co-ords are fine but for some reason the z Co-Ord is hugely out of proportion with the x and y. For instance if we have a point on a polygon and z was 1 while all the other points where z = 0 (in local co-ords), that corner would be massively extended towards the screen. I have got around this by scaling z down, but when it comes to rotation around the x or y axes, it doesn''t work as x or y may equal something like 50 and that would make z eventually equal 50. Which means the rotated polygon or whatever comes flying at the screen and through the camera. My brain is a bit dead at the moment and it is probably something stupid I am missing. Any ideas? Thanks in Advance.... Coin
Advertisement
It''s tricky to know what you mean without any specifics on how you''re implementing this stuff, but superficially it sounds like you''re using a very narrow field of view, or you''re simply doing it right and are not used to how the perspective warp affects space.

You''ll probably need to post the equations and values you''re trying to use to get a specific answer. Screenshots of the problem would also help.
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I''ll post some of the code below:

This is how I initialise my camera, it is very basic, no rotation has been implemented for the camera, it just looks straight down the Z-Axis.