Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

BKStoltman

Which Language to Learn Visual C++ or Visual C#?

BKStoltman    100
I recently got my hands on Visual Studios .Net. I am a decent programmer in Visual basic, however the .NET version is way different. I want to learn a C language because most code examples out there are in C. But which C should I teach myself. Visual C++ or Visual C#. I plan to write simple windows applications, and perhaps eventually play with DirectX. But obviously I will start with the basics. So which shall I start with. Is C++ stronger but C# is less powerful but easy.

rohde    432
I would definitely say C#; especially if you want to do some simple Windows applications.

Chheck out Dr. GUI .NET on MS''s site. It''s a nice C#/VB/ASP .NET tutorial.

"Yeah, I would''ve killed you, but I''m glad I didn''t - the paperwork is a bitch"

antareus    576
Learn them both.

Learn C# first then go backwards and learn some C++ as you play with DX. C# has managed DX libraries, but C++ is still a very marketable skill.

Oh and the other day during the summer my boss came to me and said, "did you know the average salary of a .NET developer is $100,000?!" All I could say is "wow!"; my intern salary didn''t really approach that and I was punching C# out. Maybe next summer.

sSimontis    100
I would experiment. I have said this several times today. Look through both of them. Which has easier to read source code? Which seems easier to you? Whgich do you feel most comfortable with? I would say go with C++, but I want to experiment with C# when I get my copy.

Scott Simontis
e-mail:ageofscott@comcast.net
AIM:ssimontis

Eskhan    122