Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

vish40

OpenGL Questions for people who know OpenGL pretty well!!!

vish40    122
hey guys, I have been programming in OpenGL for about 6 months. I have read tutorials on several of the website. They were great, especially NeHe''s, but they only take to a certain level. I am at a level where I can create a 3d object and do alpha blending, lighting, texturing and all other low level stuff. I can''t seen to go anywhere from here. So I have a question to ask you OpenGL programmers. How did you go about learn OpenGL and what step did you took to get to the level you''re at. I would also like to know the following things: I do i go about programming a level in OpenGL. Are there any tutorials that I can help with this process. Thanks for your replys.

vish40    122
See the problem with this is that i dont know how to program that. Is there a website that explains the process of creating complex object or even my own format.

Thanks again for your replys.

benjamin bunny    838
I learnt by programming a simple 3D game, referring to the OpenGL pages on MSDN.

If you''ve done a lot of tutorials, it''s probably time you weened yourself off them. Tutorials are okay if you want to get your feet wet, but at some point you need to learn to think for yourself. Copying and pasting really doesn''t teach you that much.

benjamin bunny    838
quote:
Original post by vish40
See the problem with this is that i dont know how to program that. Is there a website that explains the process of creating complex object or even my own format.

Thanks again for your replys.

Oh dear. My initial suspicion was correct: you're a copy and paste programmer without a clue about designing your own code. Perhaps you should just learn to program instead. Before you ask, no, there isn't a web page which will teach you how to program. You need to learn yourself.